waiting days

by christinady

The past two days have been pretty steady– just waiting for my lighting to be changed before I do final adjustments.

My wrist has returned to normal; my shoulder almost so. It’s also good that I don’t see my drawing for a while so that I’ll have a clearer perspective when I see it again. Sometimes, really, I blank out on my drawing– I have no idea what I’m looking at anymore.

What’s even better with all this non-work time is that I get to spend time with the team, the artists, and the volunteers. Most volunteers are university students, and so we talk about their love lives, k-pop, and fashion.  Some teach me Korean dance moves, some teach me conversational Korean, but most  teach me bad words like 찌 질 이 !

The biennale team is also just awesome. Mr. Azumaya, the director, is one of the kindest and funniest guys I’ve ever met. I guess that’s important– everyone from the staff to the installation team is very kind and has a sense of humor. Walang masungit. Everyone’s been really generous with their time and energy.

Of course, I’m lucky that my coordinator and I get along well. 김 성 우 has been very efficient and accomodating. He allows me to bug him because I have no one else to bug here. He also doesn’t get mad even though he’s been the object of all the nasty words I’ve been learning. Today, he told me maybe it’s better I don’t learn Korean anymore.

The other artists have been great as well! Yisha who has inspired me to fabulous at the opening, Celine who gives me music, Zadok who has a joke for me everyday, Shih-Chieh who has a whole docu about 80 cats in his iPhone. It’s such a wonderful feeling seeing all these artists with their work, their process; talking to them about ideas and possibilities.

I’m really lucky I’m in this biennale with all these wonderful people!  These words are not enough to explain how I am feeling. Right now, the world seems so big and fabulous and wonder-full!

And OH! I came out in a Korean art magazine–

article about the busam biennale

need to trx my arms!

Hee-hee.

