Happy Holidays 2011

by christinady

On gift-giving:

I set up some new rules about gift-giving this year. No objects to be given/received, only experiences. Exceptions: if it’s something i already have and want to share, and vice versa.

I started giving gifts away last dec 1, and it’s been really fun. Looking forward to the rest of the season.

I’ve given/will give:                                  

1.a Chatime hangout; 2. old philo/film/art books; 3. ukay trips; 4. art lessons; 5. tattoo designs; 6. conversation over peppermint brownie; 7. museum trips; 8. yoga classes; 9. pole tricks; 10. guitar lessons

And in return i have asked for:

1. a morning run; 2. a sunset/sunrise drink; 3. a meal with a view; 4. clothes altering; 5. rings training; 6. dance lessons; 7. bondage volunteers; 8. random pointless trips; 9. horror movie marathon; 10. salsa saturdays

The lists aren’t finished yet… everyday, gift items are being added. Will post the final tally in January!

On the bigger picture:

I’ve started giving my things away. Not those things that mean a lot to me (like that ring from my lola) or that make me happy (artwork from friends). Just those other things that are, well, nice to have, but which I feel will benefit someone else more. Like most of my books, clothes, and what-have-you.

Wouldn’t it be nice if I could live out of a suitcase and just travel the world on a whim?

Also, since I’ve decided a long time ago that I don’t want any children, I will just start treating my two nephews and my month old niece like my own. So, I’m making it my goal to set up a college fund for these three kids.

On budget holidays:

It’s not that bad!

Last Friday, I watched the lights and sounds show at the Ayala Triangle in Makati, totally free. Today I checked out the Wonka Imaginarium at Shangri-la. In a few days, the Manila Symphony Orchestra will be performing at the Shangri-la atrium, free!

I guess I appreciate these things since I didn’t really grow up with a Christmas tradition. Our family wasn’t the celebratory type. Christmas season growing up would mean family mahjong time, and Godfather and Omen movie marathons. It was super fun, but not at all Christmas-y I guess.

So there, that’s how I’m celebrating Christmas this year. How are you celebrating yours?

