11 pairs of shoes

by christinady

I still have way too much stuff. But first, a little background.

Late last year, I got injured. Injury is a hassle– there are a lot of things you take for granted that you suddenly couldn’t do anymore. There was a time I couldn’t move my left arm without any pain. The simplest things– shampooing my hair or reaching for food across the table– were hell.

And if the simplest things were so hard, what more pole dancing? That period was awful. If I were just a student or hobbyist, I would’ve been depressed already. But pole was more than just my hobby. I pushed on and danced at our anniversary show injured. After that I didn’t pole for 2 months.

But injury has its upside. 1. Thank God it wasn’t my right hand. Take away pole from me, but do not take away drawing! 2. It gave me a lot of time to think and reflect about what’s important in my life.

From all those moments thinking, I got fed up with the accepted way of living and its attendant consumerism. So I decided to give my stuff away, and try to figure out how little  I need to live and be happy.

Of course, giving stuff away does not include stuff I need (running shoes) or stuff that makes me happy (my piano).

I started with: shoes. I’ve decided that I’d rather have a few pairs that are comfy and well-made and would last me a long time, than a whole shoe cabinet with shoes that hurt or are shoddy. I gave away lots of heels accumulated through the years. Things do have a tendency to pile up!

I’ve cut it down to the following:
IMG_1736

From L-R, top row:

1.black F21 flat boots, 2. black Solea heels, 3. black Solea Mary Janes (a gift from Emi Jorge of Solea. Thank you!) 4. black and white Pleaser heels for pole, 5. black  Chinese laundry rain boots (a birthday gift. thank you to my sister and brother-in-law!) 6. black Pleaser boots for pole

7. black aerosoles mary janes, 8. black nike running shoes, 9. black fitflop (thank you fitflop!) 10. black Call It Spring boots (which I’m still thinking of giving away, as they’re a size too big. Call It Spring does not carry a size 5! I bought this when I was super depressed.) 11. plastic Grendha sandals.

11 pairs of shoes. Mostly black, all comfy. I guess that’s all I really need anyway.

I guess it helps that I’m past caring what other people think of my shoes. I know fitflops are not the prettiest thing, but they sure are comfy! I love walking, so I’d rather endure judgment than painful feet.

For this new year’s eve meet up, for the first time, I didn’t wear heels . I wore shoe no. 1– flat boots. And it felt great! I could drive, walk, run, dance in them, til 730am without any pain at all. And I still felt hot without the extra inches. Who knew? Maybe I’ll give my heels away?

Well maybe not these:

IMG_1739

Emi had these made for me, look at those hearts! It’s so that when I’m hanging upside down the pole, there’s still something interesting going on with my shoe. We’re planning on making pole shoes; it’s going to happen!

IMG_1740

IMG_1741

My pole shoes from Pleaser. These are the comfiest heels ever! At 5 inches, they don’t hurt at all. I dance in them right? If only all heels were made like these!

So there. I’ve also started giving books away to people I know who will read them and enjoy them more. And clothes, I’ve donated most of my closet and kept the ones I really love and use.

But there’s still so much stuff. I’ve got a long way to go.

