100 self-portraits

by christinady

2011 was pole year. I took a hiatus from art to focus on pole. Art was becoming more like work, plus I had so many pole ideas which I had to just do, so it just seemed the right move was to take a step back from art and pursue pole.

But after Polarity (my dream of dancing with an orchestra came true!), I stepped down as creative director of Polecats Manila to focus on art again.

And so here we go.

Tonight was the opening of Imaging Identity : 100 Filipino Self Portraits ( A Selection from the Paulino Que Collection). I’m one of the 100 artists commissioned by collector Paulino Que to make a self portrait.

arm candy pong with my work

entrance of Finale Art File

view from upstairs

A pretty book was published in commemoration of the show.

(Manuel Ocampo saw me with my book and said, “I’ll sign your book.” Ok, we don’t know each other, but sure. He then proceeded to draw on my book, asking, “Do you want pussy?” To which I answered, “I’d rather have dick.” So there, I have his drawing of a dick in my book.)

It was my first time to meet Paulino Que. Thank you Vita for introducing us!

I also met several people who have my works on their walls. Wow. I am still in awe when that happens. Or when people ask me to sign the book. I guess I’ve never really processed what being an artist means. I just draw, and everything else I don’t really mind.

I usually hate openings, even my own, but I’m glad I went to this one. I’m so grateful to be a part of this show, and a part of this community that continues to inspire me. 2012, watch out. I’m back.

Exhibit runs until March 3, 2012 at Finale Art File, La Fuerza Compound, Pasong Tamo, Makati City. 

