Where to Eat on a Hypoallergenic Diet: The Wholesome Table

by christinady

It’s been 28 days since I started my hypoallergenic lifestyle as mandated by my doctor,  my derma,  and my hives.

That means: no chicken,  eggs, seafood,  dairy, chocolate, nuts, processed food,  soy, wheat and other great grains (omg Thank God I can eat rice). No chemicals so everything is fresh.  And last week I could finally have citrus! 

This also means all my clothes now are 100% cotton,  and those that can’t be helped (sports bras, etc) I must take off once I start sweating.

I’ve adapted to this–  I now bring my own food and there’s an apple even in my evening purse. But eating out is a challenge.  Who knew there were so much chemicals in our food?

So I heard about the organic restaurant The Wholesome Table and decided to check it out with my friend Corinne.

image

image

I read their philosophy and it was exactly what I believed in.

As expected though,  I couldn’t eat 90+% of their menu– chicken,  eggs,  fish,  bread, pizza,  pasta, nuts. Organic doesn’t necessarily mean I’m not allergic to it.

It was easy navigating the menu– they had labels for the food– VGN (vegan), NF (nut-free), GF (gluten-free). I saw one item with these three labels– quinoa with tahini but I wasn’t excited by it.

I did find the Buddha Bowl which was labeled VGN– a brown rice bowl topped with thai red curry and assorted vegetables and peanut brittle. I had the peanut brittle taken out.

As for drinks– I don’t even bother checking the drink list. It’s always just water,  water,  water. 

While waiting,  they served us bread.  Oh the most wonderful smelling bread!  With butter! 
I didn’t eat it,  but I smelled the sh*t out of it haha.  Corinne even asked for extra salt.

image

And then food–food!  Her braised pork fettuccine arrived— looked so good and with a side of greens,  too.

And then my food–

image

It’s yummy and pretty too!  And just the right size.  I was so happy with the lime wedge– because yes I could finally eat citrus!  This was really good,  one of the best dishes I’ve had the past 28 days. The only thing I’d add is more vegetables! (OK is that really me taking. )

Quite satisfied with the meal and the whole dining experience. Will definitely return and try the quinoa bowl and maybe some juices.

Yeyyy for hypoallergenic eating! 

The Wholesome Table is at Bonifacio High Street Central.

http://www.thewholesometable.com

