Getting into Minimalism

by christinady

Nearly a decade ago, I looked at my stressful life and decided to turn to minimalism.

My life was a mess, and I decided to move to my own place so I could live my life the way I intended to. 

Moving from a house to studio unit meant I had to leave most of my things behind. I brought a small suitcase worth of clothes plus a box worth of art materials and that was it.

It was great to be free of all those things that needed organizing and cleaning. I had no stuff so I did not need to organize.

It’s funny though how our habits, if we are not careful, can ruin or lives. I grew up buying so much crap. and soon enough,  my condo filled up– oh another pair of shoes won’t hurt, some candles would be nice, I need that coffee table.  It’s these little thoughts that add up to not-so-little-things.

Two steps forward, one step back. I call my life a work in progress.

I decided to be more intentional about my life– not let impulses and objects control me.
There are a lot of benefits to a minimalist lifestyle. Oh and when I say minimalist I mean figuring out what is useful and meaningful and beautiful in your life and getting rid of the rest. one of the biggest benefits is it has freed up so much of my time– I hardly shop, I don’t do obligatory occasions, I don’t need to work so much to buy stuff I don’t need.

So much in my life that is not real anyway. What things do I really need to make me happy?  to make me a better person?

I still have a long way to go, and just so I don’t revert back to my old non-thinking ways I will write about my progress. A meaningful minimalist life is the road less travelled, but I like this road that I am taking.

